No. 2 Columbia finishes 2nd at AAC Conference Lacrosse Tournament

WALESKA, G.A. – Columbia College Women's Lacrosse finished 2nd over the weekend in the Appalachian Athletic Conference Lacrosse Tournament. The Koalas entered the tournament ranked second overall with a record of 9-6 before defeating No. 3 University of the Cumberlands in the semifinals 14-6.

            No. 2 Columbia went on to play No. 1 Tennessee Wesleyan University in the Championship Game. The Koalas came short of claiming the title for a second year in a row, falling 15-11 to end their post-season play with an overall record of 10-7.

            Columbia was honored off the field as well in the post-season as coach Daniel Carter was named Coach of the Year for the second consecutive year. Seniors Kendra Blackstock (Mount Pleasant, SC) and Devon Walter (Columbia, SC) were named First Team All-Conference along with Sophomore Alexa Campbell (Malvern, PA). Keyerra Anderson (JR/Columbia, SC), Aaleeyah Brimmer (JR/Charleston, SC), Diamond Brown (FR/Queens, NY), and Tiffany Tortorello (JR/Pine Bush, NY) were named to the Second Team All-Conference. Tortorello, Blackstock, and Campbell were named to the All-Tournament Team following there performances in the Championship Game.

            In addition, Alex Gilbert (JR/Charleston, SC) was awarded as the Columbia College Champion of Character for 2017. Gilbert was also named to the All-Academic team with teammates Keyerra Anderson, Shanna Puckett (SR/ Clinton, SC), Tiffany Tortorello, Chelsea Vogelson (SO/Blythewood, SC), Devon Walter, and Elle Zeeman (SO/Swellendam, South Africa).

A link to the full tournament results can and complete list of honorees can be found here:

AAC Women's Lacrosse Tournament

AAC All-Conference Awards